Review: Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burger/Quesadilla

There is a super dumb test circulating on Facebook that is supposed to determine how “white” you are by asking you a few simple questions.
Apparently I am very white. Over 60% white. What!? I’ve got all sorts of Native American in my blood, somewhere……down the family tree….it’s there….maybe.
Anyway, the question that got me, asked about whether you have a deep and abiding love for shopping at Costco.
And I guess that’s where I failed the test miserably ….cuz mama loves her some Costco field trips.

Anyway…on my last trip to Costco, one of the nice sample ladies was handing out Morningstar Farm’s Chipotle Black Bean Burger samples and I ate two of them in a row much to the complete and obvious dismay of Sample lady.
They were so good I immediately raced to the freezer section and tossed one of the giant sized boxes in my cart and then doubled back around to the sample stand to grab another sample while she wasn’t paying attention.
I have no shame.
I mean c’mon…I pay to have a membership there…I’ll eat as many samples as I want to!
(BTW you can totally make a lunch out of hitting up all of the Costco sample stands if you do it right)
Okay, so onto the Black Bean Burgers that I love so much!
I already threw the box that they came in away and this is the only picture I could find:
Photobucket
I have a lot of experience with store-bought black bean burgers and these are by far the very best I have tried. For starters, the patty is gigantic!
Photobucket

I love the fact that you can actually see the chunks of pepper, corn, and black bean in the burger as well.
They are so good by themselves with yellow mustard or ketchup, and also super tasty in quesadillas.
Which is what I do with them most often.
Simply pop the burger in the toaster over for 10 minutes and then slice up into little chunks

Photobucket

Add this to your already grilling tortilla topped with sharp cheddar cheese, peppers, and tomatoes:
Photobucket

Top with sour cream and freshly prepared barack-a-mole, and enjoy!

Photobucket

And people need to stop hating on Costco so hard. Seriously.

20 thoughts on “Review: Morningstar Farms Spicy Black Bean Burger/Quesadilla

  1. Haha…I wouldn’t mind being dragged to Costco…I’m usually the one dragging someone with me. Love it. You’ve seriously had a tempting run of delicious looking food on here. I’m making trips to the store strictly based on Gimmeyummy. :)

  2. Hi! I followed a link from livejournal to your blog – your posts about “freaky food” (twin eggs and… odd peppers) made me laugh. :) I once found a pepper with another one growing inside, and showed it to my friend, who shouted, “Oh no, it was pregnant!”

    Your guac looks amazing, too!

  3. My entire family, even the meat-eaters, absolutely fell in love with these chipotle black bean burgers from Costco and now they don’t carry them any more, at least at my store. They get us addicted and then yank ‘em?! And for some reason, the MS packages of 4 black bean burgers just don’t taste the same. I guess the chipotle is missing. Whyohwhyohwhy does my beloved Costco tease me like this?!!?

  4. I’m with ya bbburgerlover. This straight up sucks.

    It seems like every time I find something I really like at Costco they pull the rug out from under me. First it was stag chilli, then it was their portabello ravioli, recently they pulled their mexican party platter of snacky goodness. Now I get no more Black Bean Chipotle burgers.

    It’s just not fair. :(

  5. Never fear, ebott, they’re back at my Costco in west Plano. In fact, when I first spotted their return, my husband came around the corner to see me standing there with my arms raised above my head and singing a sustained note like it was the second coming ;-)

  6. Just to let ya know. In the latest CostCo coupon book, these is a $4 off coup for These MSChipotle Black Bean Burgers.

  7. Rehttp://www.alternet.org/food/146439/which_veggie_burgers_were_made_with_a_neurotoxin/ad this and weep, my friends:

  8. For the sake of absolute honesty, I haven’t actually bought any black bean burgers in a really long time because I fell in love with these other veggie burgers at Costco.
    “Dr. Praeger’s California Veggie Burgers”

    Hopefully they are not made the same way. Let me know if they are.

  9. I currently reside in Cedar Rapids, Iowa and they don’t have a Costco. I’m originally from Kentucky and purchase the burgers when I go home. I found some at HYVEES, but not in the quantity that Costcos has. I don’t eat any other kind of burger, but the Spicy Black Bean Burger by Morning Star Farm. I’ve got to find a place that ‘s selling a larger quantity at the COSTCO price. These burgers are the best.

  10. Just bought a 12 pack of the MorningStar Spicy Black Bean burgers at BJ’s, think they were around $13. I’ve never tried any kind of veggie burger and after reading these reviews I can’t wait!

  11. Wow! So I wrote my post, spent about 10 minutes debating whether I wanted to eat one at 10:30pm, and decided I couldn’t wait. Man oh man was I surprised! The burger was so tasty, and it wasn’t trying to pass itself off as a ground beef replacement, which it’s not because this can definitely stand on its own. Super flavorful, nice char on the outside and I don’t feel like I just ate a greasy patty that’s going to clog my arteries.

  12. I tried this burger today because I saw this girl on YouTube talking about it. Its more expensive then the Boca burger (I bought a package of those too for $3.99) I decided to try the black bean first. Looked strange but after cooked I topped it with melted sliced cheese and put it on a sesame bun an that’s all I needed.PERFECTION!! I’ve never even tasted a real burger that was this good. I’m a very picky meat eater and I was relieves to eat this knowing there was no meat chunks.. not worrying if it was cooked throughly.I didn’t know veggie could taste this good. I need the value size box lol.

Comments are closed.